About the Host

National Taiwan University

National Taiwan University (NTU) is Taiwan’s flagship research institution since its foundation in 1928 as Taihoku Imperial University. Committed to excellence for eight decades, the University has played a constructive role in Taiwan’s remarkable transformation into a highly competitive economy and modern society. It offers a stimulating, intellectually rigorous environment in which to develop innovative research with strong impact.

NTU’s leading role in education and research is supported by a global strategy that capitalizes on sustained mobility, an expanded network of 500 partners in 60 countries, and the creation of quality international opportunities.

NTU is:

  • 37th worldwide for academic reputation (QS World University Rankings 2015).
  • in the 61–70 band worldwide for university reputation (Times Higher Education Top Universities by Reputation 2015).
  • 76th worldwide overall (QS World University Rankings 2015).
  • in the top 1% in the world by number of highly cited papers in 19 out of 22 areas of the ESI (Essential Science Indicators) database.
  • 1st in Taiwan by research budget.
  • 1st in Taiwan by number of industrial partnerships and technology transfers.


The Association of Southeast Asian Institutions of Higher Learning (ASAIHL) was established in 1956 as a non-governmental organization at a meeting in Bangkok of the heads of eight state universities in Southeast Asia. Field Marshal Pibulsongkram, the Thai Prime Minister, supported its foundation and approved setting up the Secretariat in Thailand. His government began by giving financial and material support, which continued for several years until the Association had other sources of funds. More recently, in addition to physical facilities, the Thai government has been supporting the Association with a grant of US $5,000 annually.
ASAIHL’s purpose is to assist member institutions to strengthen themselves through mutual self-help and to achieve international distinction in teaching, research and public service. In so doing, the institutions contribute strength to their respective nations and to the entire region.

Specifically, the Association exists to foster the development of the institutions themselves, the cultivation of a sense of regional identity and interdependence and liaison with other regional and international organizations concerned with research and teaching.

It serves as a clearing-house of information, provides regular opportunities for the discussion of academic development and general university development; assists member institutions in the recruitment and placement of faculty and staff, exchanges of professors and students and in the development of co-operative arrangements on specific projects; provides advisory services of consultants; strengthens the relationship with regional and international bodies and keeps member institutions informed about developments; and recognizes and acknowledges distinctive achievements among Southeast Asian institutions of higher education.

Founding Fathers:

  • Sir Nicholas Attygalle, University of Ceylon
  • Air Marshal Muni M. Vejyant Rangshrisht, Chulalongkorn University
  • Dr. Lindsay Ride, University of Hong Kong
  • Prof. Bahder Djohan, University of Indonesia
  • Sir Sydney Caine, University of Malaya
  • Dr. Vidal A. Tan, University of the Philippines
  • Dr. Htin Aung, University of Rangoon
  • Prof. Nguyen-Quang-Trinh, National University of Vietnam